UAAP: La Salle, Ateneo for the women’s crown of badminton

This image is about women's crown of badminton

The Centro Atletico Badminton Centre, the Ateneo of Manila University and the University of De La Salle organized a UAAP 82 women’s badminton tournament championship meeting.

The defendants, Ateneo, required only three games to stop and secure their second consecutive championship appearances at the National University (NU).

In the lonely two-time game 21-18 and 21-16, Gwen Desacola and Jeya Pinlac won the Championship with Chanelle Lunod and Geva De Vera last year.

In a two-set conquest of rookie Kate Amigable, 21-7, 21-17, Lunod previously flexed her muscles to open the cover. Mika De Guzman of Ateneo’s own newbie then took the 2-0 benefit from NU captain Jiselle Capillo, 21-14, 21-5.

The title winner at UAAP Season 80, La Salle, who took vengeance for the University of the Philippines (UP), also punched her ticket to the finish line.

The winner of La Salle again came from Rookie Palma Cruz and Shayne Boloron who crushed Marie Lopez and Andrea Abalos, 21-10, 21-9, in the second game.

Skipper Iyah Sevilla placed La Salle on the lead 2-1 before he took his two-day trips. The National Team was out in the openings, Jaja Andres, 21-11, 22-24, 21-11, and Kanna Baba, 21-9, 21-2 over Andre and Tricia Opon were the first game.

The first match of the top-three finals will take place on Friday, October 4, at the same Quezon City venue between Ateneo and La Salle. On the same day, UP and NU are in the third position in the qualifying tie.

Read more related  about the Filipinolive Sports:

Follow us on Facebook and stay up to date with the latest content

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *