24 teams compete in BVR on Tour Santa Fe Open

24 teams compete in BVR on Tour Santa Fe Open

A field of 24 teams—12 each from the women’s and men’s divisions—will compete for reign supreme in the Beach Volleyball Republic on Tour Santa Fe Open this weekend of March.

The scenic Bantayan Island in Cebu’s Beach Placid Resort in will host to the country’s best sand court players for the three years in a row, as the previous leg’s champions Bea Tan and Dij Rodriguez, representing Negros, and Ranran Abdilla and Jessie Lopez, carrying the banner of Air Force, battle for the crown.

Carrying out the lineup are teams from PetroGazz, Cebu, Visayas, National University, Cebu, Bacolod, University of San Carlos, Southwestern University and Russia.

Commissioner Nimrod Quiñones of Cebu Provincial Sports Commission (CPSC) looks forward for the province’s successful hosting of the BVR on Tour Santa Fe Open, “The CPSC continues to support BVR on Tour because volleyball is one of the most popular sports in Cebu. Beach volleyball is also a major crowd drawer and is in line with our thrust to push sports tourism.”

The previous year, the Visayas-based squads reigned the Santa Fe leg, with UNO-R’s Alexa Polidario and Erjane Magdato topping the women’s side, while Cebu’s Jade Becaldo and Calvin Sarte emergent triumphant in the men’s section.

12 teams divided into four brackets as tournament format battling it out in a single round-robin affair. The top two teams per group will forward to the quarterfinals, where the winners will progress to the semifinals. The Finals and the battle for third are one-match affairs.

BVR’s community development platform the Sandroots program, where athletes deliver skills focused workshops for children in the community, will be held as well.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *